Green Tip of the Day – Driving

Everyone knows that we are burning a lot of fossil fuels with all the driving that we do, but we have to get from A to B somehow.  Depending on where you live, where you need to go and when you need to go, taking public transportation is not always an option.  So, I asked myself, “What is a girl to do?” and following are a few “Rules of the Road” that I have collected from various sources over the past few years:

Drive the highest miles per gallon vehicle that you can.  Ok, you have four kids, so a Yaris isn’t going to work for you, but there are always options.  Even saving a few MPGs is going to save you money in the long run

Keep your vehicle in good condition and make sure your tires are always properly inflated.

Combine trips and plan your route ahead of time to minimize the miles you have to drive.  This will not only save money, but will also save time!  Oh, and make sure your write that shopping list before you go (and bring it with you – that is the hard thing for me to remember) so you don’t forget the milk and have to “run” back to the store.

Don’t make that trip!  Personally, instead of going to the library to look for that book I want to read, I go online to my library’s website to make sure it is there and, if not, place a hold on the book and go pick it up when it is there.  This saves me the hassle of an extra trip.

Lastly, you could always ride a bike…which reminds me, I have got to get my bike in working order – cool weather is coming soon to South Florida!

Leave a Reply

