Green Tip – One Small Thing

Many of us have made our New Year’s resolutions (and broken some already).  Have you thought about one small thing you can do this year to make your life greener?  I started doing this a few years ago.

Last year, I installed a clothesline and air-dry most of my laundry.  Not only do I save on my electric bill, but I also get a little more exercise!  This year, I asked for a Soda Stream for Christmas (and got one).  I like to drink seltzer, but didn’t like lugging the bottles around and then throwing them all in the recycle bin.  This machine allows me to make my own seltzer in reusable bottles and I can return the CO2 cartridge when it is empty.

Here are some suggestions for some small things that you can do:

  • Cut down or eliminate using bottled water.
  • Use cleaning products that are concentrated and/or have fewer chemicals.
  • Recycle whenever you can.
  • Switch from shower gels/washes in a bottle to bar soap (less packaging).
  • Wash clothes in cold water whenever possible.
  • Don’t eat meat one day a week.

We believe in continuous improvement – many small steps taken over time lead to big results!  What small steps have you taken to make your life greener?  Please feel free to share yours in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

